

Annual Council Report

Date: 18 May 2022

Classification: For General Release

Title: Return of Councillors and Notification of Members

of Political Groups, including Leaders, Deputy

Leaders and Party Whips

Report of: Chief Executive and Director of Law (Monitoring

Officer)

Wards Involved: Not applicable

Policy Context: Management of the Council

Financial Summary: None

Report Author and Tristan Fieldsend

Contact Details: Senior Committee and Councillor Co-ordinator

Email: tfieldsend@westminster.gov.uk

1. Executive Summary

- 1.1 This report sets out details of the Councillors elected at the Election held on 5 May 2022 and the notification received of the Membership of political groups on the Council. It will be seen that there are 31 Labour Group Members and 23 Conservative Group Members.
- 1.2 Notification has been received that the Leader of the Majority Group is Councillor Adam Hug, the Deputy Leaders, Councillors Aicha Less and Tim Roca and Chief Whip, Councillor Matt Noble. The Opposition Party have notified that their Leader is Councillor Rachael Robathan, their Deputy Leader is Councillor Tim Mitchell their and Chief Whip, Councillor Paul Swaddle.

2. Recommendations

- 2.1 That the return of Councillors elected, and their respective Wards, at the City Council elections on 5 May 2022 as set out in Appendix A, including the Membership of the respective political groups, be noted.
- 2.2 That the Group Officers, as set out in paragraph 1.2 above, be noted.

If you have any queries about this Report or wish to inspect any of the Background Papers please contact Tristan Fieldsend. Email: tfieldsend@westminster.gov.uk

Background Papers: Notifications from Parties

Appendix A: List of Councillors